Weekend Replay: Summer Soiree and TOMS

30 08 2010

Hi there!

Sorry that I fell out of the blogosphere last week, I was busy busy. The good news? I have shoes to report on! 🙂

Friday night I had the pleasure of attending the Junior League of Chicago’s annual Summer Soiree at the Chicago History Museum. Although the theme was “A Night on the Green” the attire was summer cocktail and that only meant one thing to me–a pair of fabulous shoes to accompany my dress. I wore a frilly and fantastic black strapless dress from White House Black Market and paired it with Betsey Johnson’s “Whitney” open-toe pump. I’m an idiot and forgot to take pictures of the outfit, but trust me, the shoes looked great! More importantly, they felt pretty good, respectively. It’s hard to really say any pair of high pumps are comfortable, but these were some of the more comfortable ones I have worn in a while. The platform made the heel feel less high and the open side kept my feet from feeling too restricted. I was fortunate enough to find these lovelies at Akira Shoes and they retail for $150. In my opinion, they are worth it in style and comfort.

In addition to getting to wear those great Betsey’s I also tracked down and bought my first pair of TOMS shoes! I talked about TOMS once before, and although I love everything that TOMS stands for, I haven’t always loved their shoes. The style is simple and the canvas material is casual. I have definitely seen some people who look great in Tom’s and, as always, there are some people who don’t look quite as good. So, I was kind of neutral about myself in Tom’s. That was until I tried them on while killing a few minutes at Nordstroms. The last thing I expected was for these shoes to be as comfortable as they are, seriously awesome. And, the canvas felt great and the shape of the shoe really came to life once I put it on. I was immediately sold, but Nordstrom’s was only sold out. Since I didn’t want to pay for shipping OR have to battle with those stupid UPS stickers on my front door, I was on a shoe-hunt for a pair of Red canvas Tom’s in size 7. Tom’s shoes stretch about a half size so it’s better to buy them a half-size down from your usual shoes. Finally, after days of looking around, I picked up my Tom’s in the Nordstroms at Old Orchard mall. I am happy to know that my $44 purchase not only made me happy, but funded a pair of shoes for a child in Africa. I encourage all of you to at least try on a pair of Tom’s the next time you’re shopping because I think you will be just as excited as I was.

Check in tomorrow for BooTuesday and don’t forget to follow me on Twitter!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

